My Flight
2006-03-02 3:23 pm

I arrived two days ago - and in the spirit of transitions and change being less-than-easy, my flight offered several challenges.

Single-handedly, or is it double-handedly (I do have two hands, after all), I rolled my two tightly packed suitcases the mile to the subway station, carrying both down, and later up, the stairs. I arrived at the airport two hours early, as required, and slipped easily through security - although I felt nearly naked by the time I got through the metal detector.

Our plane arrived late, so we boarded late and then departed late - about an hour. Sandwiched between a chatty socially inept fellow who boarded the plane already drunk and had four bloody marys during the flight and a nice, quiet ceramicist in the aisle seat, I could hardly keep comfortable or entertain myself for the 6 hours we were in the air. I spent much of the time reading, a little time working on my website and the last two hours I was able to meditate myself to sleep.

Just before landing we experienced prolonged turbulence and in classic air-travel fashion, I made use of the barf bag. Although we arrived an hour late, my cousin was cheerfully there to greet me and help me with my bags, giving me a wonderful welcome and much needed ride to my mom's. I didn't mention the vomiting - I just didn't want to go there.

My mom and brother were in bed, yet still awake when I arrived. I spent some time talking with my mom and relaying the events of the flight before we said goodnight. I slept on the couch, waking at 7:27 am PST feeling surprisingly refreshed.

for emotion related details on my new life see amylburns.com/writings.

* * *

7 8

previously:
weather or not - 2006-03-07
My Flight - 2006-03-02
poetree in motion - 2006-02-28
ultimate personality test - 2006-02-25
limerick e-trip - 2006-02-22


now / earlier

profile / email / notes

links / wish list

my artwork / my store

design / host