canvas captive
2004-06-03 12:29 pm

walking to walgreens, i saw two young hip looking women with clipboards... i immediately began looking for an escape. but it was boylston and i was so close to my destination... there was no escape.

the first one stopped someone else... phew! almost there, just 10 more feet, i can make it if...

the cute one with the hat spoke "do you have a minute to help push GW out of the white house?" it was a tough question, one of those trick ones that you can't say "no" to otherwise you're essentially saying "i torture little puppies and kitties."

quickly, only pausing for a slight second so that she could hear me, i replied "i already vote, uh and stuff." alas, she was well trained and held my eyes... "im helping to raise money for the democratic party to get rid of Bush." my perfect out - "im sorry, i dont have any money today."

this did not dissuade her. she continued looking directly into my eyes as she told me about the master plan... the democrats would use this money in states such as Florida to recruit people to vote, register more democratic voters, and transport voters to the polls.

i nodded politely... thinking of how i could appease her without outright lying. i could tell her that i know people with money and would tell them about this, but it was too late. i was already standing there, captive of this canvaser. i continued to nod as she told me more and more.

"do you have anything i can take with me?" she looked at her clipboard, under it, and looked back at me. "i dont", she said. "but i can give you the URL... it's democrats.org. do you want me to write it down for you?"

"democrats.org... i can remember that." she smiled and said thank you as i turned to make my way into walgreens. i smiled and for some reason thanked her back.

* * *

7 8

previously:
weather or not - 2006-03-07
My Flight - 2006-03-02
poetree in motion - 2006-02-28
ultimate personality test - 2006-02-25
limerick e-trip - 2006-02-22


now / earlier

profile / email / notes

links / wish list

my artwork / my store

design / host