cuticle clippers pose international security threat
2005-03-29 1 pm

have i ever mentioned how much i hate spending an entire day traveling?

i had to check in my cuticle clippers at the airport today. the USA didn't make me check my clippers in on the way to MX, but apparently MX finds my clippers to be rather threatening.

hey, im all for safety. but im not really the kind of girl that would intentionally get someone else's blood on my clippers. i dont particularly enjoy the process of disenfecting my things after they've been contaminated.

anyway, it was at the security gate, after we'd already checked in for our flight, that the clippers were "discovered". i was sent back to the check out counter with my clippers to check them as baggage.

the woman at the counter looked at me like i was insane. i explained security told me to come down and check them. she told me to go find a box.

so, off i went in search of a small box... the stupid american girl with cuticle clippers... asking vendors if they happened to have a small box for my deadly clippers. fortunately a female vendor took pity on me and found a small box that originally housed 10 or so mini bottles of tequila.

i took my boxed clippers to the counter and the young security fellow securely taped the box, wrapping the airline tape around at least a dozen or so times, all while smiling and winking at me. i gave the box to the woman at check out and she reissued my ticket, with a sticker for my baggage claim.

next stop, the waiting area.

* * *

7 8

previously:
weather or not - 2006-03-07
My Flight - 2006-03-02
poetree in motion - 2006-02-28
ultimate personality test - 2006-02-25
limerick e-trip - 2006-02-22


now / earlier

profile / email / notes

links / wish list

my artwork / my store

design / host