db's dyxlesic paranoia
2004-12-30 11:59 pm

this morning db tells me he needs to go to the bank and to his landlord's office to pay rent.

excellent, i think. i need to go to the bank too.

db jots down the address to the property management and we head out the door.

we take quite the walk through brighton and i have no clue where i am most of the time. eventually we're at his bank.

he doesnt like to make deposits in the ATM b/c he doesn't trust them.

instead, he hands over his checks and deposit slip to the random "helper" guy standing in the lobby with a clip board.

as we leave i ask, "uh, so, you don't trust the ATM with your checks but you'll give them to a total stranger standing in the lobby?"

db: "mhm"

i make a deposit at my bank and on the way to the property management company in allston i tell my favorite bank anicdote. you know, the one where the atm has been vandalized and there are only two branches, both open only during my working hours, making it impossible for me to deposit massive quantities of money that desperately need to be deposited.

its the police station and hospital that finally help me recognize where we are. having learned all the most important landmarks while living in allston, i point and say "KFC is over there." db is extremely impressed.

we walk down harvard ave, stopping only twice to browse the junk store and the music store. then we continue on our journy to pay the rent.

i must have asked db the address several hundred times, promptly forgetting it the moment he finished speaking. eventually i caught it. we were looking for 1274A Comm Ave.

perfect, we were at 1222 and after turning right, the numbers continue up rapidly. we make it a couple blocks and i ask db again, "whats the address again?" without beating me to a pulp he answers "1274A".

we make it to the corner, the CVS is 1266. "perfect it must be across the street." we cross and see a realty company on the corner... but the address is 1286.

db: "what?!"
me: "what did you say the address was again?"
db: "its 1274A"
me: "hmm... there isn't a 1274A."
db: with his hand still on his forehead in disbelief, "WHAT?!"
me: "what did you say the company was called again?"
db: "[enter name here]"
me: "hmm..."

we look across at the CVS. sure enough its still 1266. we walk up to the building which should have the 1270s. sure enough, 1286 then 1288, etc.

baffled as to how an entire city block could be missing we take the T back to db's.
me: "i want to see that piece of paper you got the address off."

db grabs the lease when we arrive at his place. the management company's address is in all caps across the top... 1247A Commonwealth Ave.

i bust out laughing and joke with db "next time you're having us walk all over town to find a place, im double checking the address."

me: "wait... why don't you just mail your rent check?"
db: "it will be late."
me: "today is the 30th, and there is a holiday. it will be there by Monday, the 3rd."
db: "that's late and i'll get fined."
me: "no you won't! you can be a couple day's late. they usually give you till the 5th or 15th before they fine you."
db: "really??? i won't get fined???"
me: "of course not!"
db: looking for a stamp in his desk... "where are my stamps!?!?"

silly db, trix are for kids.

* * *

mass ave traffic

7 8

previously:
weather or not - 2006-03-07
My Flight - 2006-03-02
poetree in motion - 2006-02-28
ultimate personality test - 2006-02-25
limerick e-trip - 2006-02-22


now / earlier

profile / email / notes

links / wish list

my artwork / my store

design / host