giving thanx
2004-11-25 4:19 pm

as painful as life can be on occassion, it can also be bliss. and without one, we cannot even hope to experience the other.

in no particular order, i am thankful for the following:

  1. coffee flavor tofutti cuties of which ive just finished my eighth today
  2. each breath that fills my chest, providing me with life and energy
  3. my mother for always doing her best, even when she was tired and hurting and wanted to give up
  4. oatmeal and cream of wheat two of the best foods ever
  5. YF who loved me as his own and never stopped looking
  6. my sister and brother who i love with all my heart and miss more than i would miss chocolate if it were to vanish from the planet
  7. VP for always remembering me
  8. running water cascading over my shoulders via shower or waterfall
  9. TS for encouraging me to apply to WWU anyway, and letting me turn in my papers late when i couldnt do homework b/c i was sleeping in my truck
  10. SG for finding work for me, even when it meant paying me from the lollipop fund
  11. guitars and all the beautiful sounds that come out of them
  12. ASL who supported me through high school and college as best as possible and helped me grow into the person i am today
  13. love, because it feels good even when it hurts
  14. ML&LL for sharing your roof and food when i had none
  15. ML for apologizing after all those years
  16. MK who is here, even when 3000 miles away
  17. SH for taking me and Cubito in and sharing your heart and couch with us
  18. MH who nurtured my creativity and sense of self as i was in that cocoon trying to sprout wings
  19. G&J for giving me a warm place to stay when id come home from college for the weekend
  20. Boston which welcomed me, keeps me safe, and has made me feel more at home than any other city ive met
  21. dishwashers like the one i dont have
  22. soul mates including DB, KDK, LW
  23. writing which has saved my life countless times
  24. LE for being kind and caring and too much fun
  25. SW who can be trusted with the most important things and is the most honest person i know
  26. the color pink because it makes me feel warm and cozy
  27. LOM for teaching me that its okay to spend my money on me, and to buy nice things
  28. ann taylor which makes elegant and beautiful clothing that feels so good against my skin
  29. KG for loving me unconditionally, even when i didnt know how to help him make poop
  30. rainbows to remind me that the pot of gold is already here, i just have to see it
  31. vision with which i can experience art and the sky and your face
  32. manny, papi, veritek, johnny, pedro, pokey, curt, nomar (even though he was traded), dougM, millar, muelar, mr. C, and any other cutie patootie i left out
  33. sunshine which warms my back, povides necessary vitamins, creates beatiful shadows on the buildings in the city and nourishes the seeds which become food and flowers and trees
  34. being able-bodied because i can do anything id like to, from simple to complex
  35. rain all the 65 forms we refer to in the seattle area weather forecasts
  36. CFL which created an avenue for me to dig deeper into my spiritual sense of self and create the life i desire
  37. music which is the sound of beauty and life and love and pain and everything else
  38. children reminding me of how wonderful and cruel the world is, and why i must keep moving forward toward change
  39. your soft hands touching my face
  40. soy products because they are yummy
  41. good health because so much else depends upon it... and the red wheelbarrow
  42. poetry, which allowed me to make reference to the red wheelbarrow above
  43. dreaming because there is so much i cant deal with while awake and that my mind processes while i sleep, plus i really like jumping off buildings and flying in UFOs
  44. direct communication even thought its scary and difficult
  45. my body because it is a source of awe and pleasure and beauty and love
  46. anyone who has ever given me the benefit of the doubt

* * *

ani difranco: both hands

7 8

previously:
weather or not - 2006-03-07
My Flight - 2006-03-02
poetree in motion - 2006-02-28
ultimate personality test - 2006-02-25
limerick e-trip - 2006-02-22


now / earlier

profile / email / notes

links / wish list

my artwork / my store

design / host