things that make you go "hmmm"
2004-12-02 10:55 am

im always baffled when people only a couple years younger than me cant imagine life without bike helmets or wrist/elbow/knee pads. i learned to ride a bike in gravel. we didnt have paved roads in my town. and wiping out resulted in serious skinning (which should be called deskinning).

i also remember a time before seatbelt or motorcycle helmet laws. the good ol' 1980s. in fact, i dont think we even had seatbelts in our hippy-van, and my dad only wore a helmet when he rode alone.

my mom and her friends used to take us kids ice skating... on the lake. we (adults and kids) didnt wear ice skates - why bother? - we just wore our brown-soled sneakers and slid around on the creaking crackling ice.

ive only been shot once with a b-b gun, and luckily it wasn't in the eye. alas, the same cousin who shot me, did happen to shoot another kid in the eye. i believe that court case is still open... 18 years later.

finally, i recall fishing in a rock quarry canal with my mom and her bf. i also recall there being a whirlpool which seemed to suck every/anything into it and under the water. we sat on the very edge of the rocks with our feet in the water. when i fell in, i held onto a wobbly rock and calmly asked for assistance. had i not held on or had the rock dislodged, id have been sucked under and surely have drown.

* * *

voices in the conference room

7 8

previously:
weather or not - 2006-03-07
My Flight - 2006-03-02
poetree in motion - 2006-02-28
ultimate personality test - 2006-02-25
limerick e-trip - 2006-02-22


now / earlier

profile / email / notes

links / wish list

my artwork / my store

design / host