1.8 Mile
2004-06-22 9:47 am

on my way to work this morning i saw so much change and wonder around me!

landscapers had all of the flowers and plants at the new boylston street median, ready to beautify my neighborhood! i couldnt help but smile at this gorgeous display of neighborhood revitalization occurring so near my own home.

further down Boylston was the incredibly lovely and charming Globe girl camped outside slugnut (LOM/my slang for Dunkin Donuts) selling papers to passersby.

it was a joy to observe the Public Garden improvements, as each day more and more progress is made toward completing whatever it is they are doing near Arlington Street. is the new concrete patch becoming a new fountain? a statue? a small oration area? only time will tell.

all of these exciting views prompted me to change the last leg of my route, nearly allowing me to make the 1.8 mile trip without being accosted by some pervert.

you know where this is going, dont you?

as i made my way through the Boston Common the summer sites continued to astound me ... teens groping each other near the Frog Pond, homeless couples taking in the morning sun on the benches, and then...

then a nicely dressed, possibly employed twentysomething-year-old male in a baseball cap sitting on a bench to my left was compelled to speak to me as i pass... "you feeling horny? I'm hard as a rock...".

with all the shock of someone who is barraged with this exact kind of verbal assault on a daily basis, continuing to smile to myself, i looked him directly in the eye, laughed, shook my head in pity, continued walking and wondered to myself if maybe i shouldnt walk through the park any more.

and as any native Bostonian might do after such a moving display of sexual prowess, i headed to slugnut and bought myself a large decaf iced coffee with sugar and cream. so much for a change of scenery.

* * *

7 8

previously:
weather or not - 2006-03-07
My Flight - 2006-03-02
poetree in motion - 2006-02-28
ultimate personality test - 2006-02-25
limerick e-trip - 2006-02-22


now / earlier

profile / email / notes

links / wish list

my artwork / my store

design / host