elephants
2004-06-17 8:50 am

i was at home, or my aunts, or maybe my moms... im not sure, but my grandma wilma was there and that was sure a surprise.

the home was a large rambler, very spacious inside with lots of room for all the people who lived there or were visiting. my cousins billy and sean, lots of children and babies, and grown ups too.

for some reason, we all kept cramming into the car to go to the shopping center nearby on 112th. oddly, there were two shopping centers instead of one and they both had the exact same shops... apparently people would be too lazy to cross the main road, so it made sense to build one on each side.

the house had a large and expansive yard in front, something smaller with trees and shrubs behind the house. i was with the children out front and two miniature ponies were frolicking amongst the grasses. the brown pony belonged to the boy child, and the white pony belonged to the girl child. the boy child was a little older than the girl, so he was able to hop on himself, but the girl child was getting frustrated that she couldnt climb up. so i approached and lifted her onto the white pony. the frolicked happily for a while and i was back into and then out of the house again to find the scene had changed.

now the yard was full of large turkeys, beautiful yet aggressive. the children looked from the deck that surrounded the front of the house. at some point i was walking in the field, perhaps rounding up the children. a turkey began to peck at my belly - silly turkey. it didnt hurt exactly, but was something more like being painfully tickled.

back in the house again, i was near the kitchen and talking with my uncle bill and cousin billy. because as a child i always experienced billy as my tormentor, he was also here to torment me as well. lighting a match, he tossed it toward me.

i felt a burning sensation under my neck but could not find the match. it had slipped down my shirt. immediately i grabbed a cold, damp paper towel and placed it to the black burn, the size of a small pea, just above my adams apple. a small portion of the neckline of my shirt was singed. the match had made its way into my bra and waited there for retrieval. i showed this to my mother and to his mother.

there was no time to be self-indulgent, the girl child was upset. i went to her in the other room. the pony had turned itself into a small white cushy box, which was not nearly as fun as when it was a pony. i picked up the girl child and walked with her. in the vanity, i saw grandma wilma approaching. i turned to her and she looked at the child in my arms with sweet eyes of love. grandma wilma was beautiful with her red hair, large featured face highlighted with red lipstick. she looked as she had when i was a small child, before she had broken her hip or used an oxygen tank.

i saw a strange movement out the window and went to look. peeking up from a little mound of yard was a tiny little elephant. i called people to look but it dissappeared. i found that it mostly prefered to appear in the back of the house, which really only had a small strip of yard, and then was encompassed by trees and bushes.

here i saw that there was a second elephant, equally small. the nose of one stemmed from its forhead, and its face below was a symbol of some kind that i did not have the training to identify. the other elephants nose was in the usual place, but its face above also held a symbol which was different from the other elephant.

i wanted to follow these creatures i had never laid eyes on before, but they were quite quick to disappear. i followed along the back of the house, crossing into the yards of neighbors who didn't seem to mind or find it out of the ordinary that i was searching under their decks for tiny elephants. they certainly hadn't seen any.

i approached a house with a slightly raised deck and about 7 steps leading up. under the deck, almost like posts holding up the corners of the deck where tiny elephants with symbols for faces, and misplaced noses. these were the creatures i had seen before - the creatures i sought!

i looked up onto the deck and saw two women sitting at a beautiful wooden table. i recognized them, but unsure how. they greeted me to join them and i began to explain my search. the woman to my right had long light brown hair and was relatively young. the woman to my left was older and thicker with short white hair. she offered to read my cards for free.

i pull out money to give her a tip, and realize that instead of giving me a five at the store, the clerk had given me a piece of paper which someone had sloppily drawn the five dollar bill. i was horrified that i hadnt noticed this before, and now i would have to tip either two dollars or ten because that was all i had left. so, i tipped twelve.

the older woman reminded me that the last time i had joined them i had left my jacket. she pointed to a door and looked through it, not finding my jacket. she looked through it herself and pulled out a thin black knit cardigan. i was surprised i had missed this item although it had been underneath a couple others on a hanger.

it is time for me to leave, and i know this. but in a bedroom i see one of the elephant creatures siting at a desk. it makes to throw things at me, somewhat mischeviously. and i dodge paper and other light objects wondering how to get to it so i can ask it questions. but i also wonder if i want to get to it since it seems to lack maturity.

it seems i have learned what these creatures are, yet am shrouded in more mystery.

* * *

7 8

previously:
weather or not - 2006-03-07
My Flight - 2006-03-02
poetree in motion - 2006-02-28
ultimate personality test - 2006-02-25
limerick e-trip - 2006-02-22


now / earlier

profile / email / notes

links / wish list

my artwork / my store

design / host