mosquito attack
2005-06-29 9:42 am

isn't anything sacred any more?

im certain that in the 24 hours i haven't worn mosquito repellant i have half a dozen, maybe more, new mosquito bites.

the reason i didn't apply the repellant is because its a lotion rather than a spray, and frankly im lazy and don't feel like washing my hands afterwards. that'll teach me.

there are three locations i believe are meant to be exempt from mosquito bites. the soles of feet, the palms of hands, and scalps. fortunately only one of these has been violated. guess which.

yesterday i noticed my palm itching in the spot under my middle finger which would be a callus if if i had calluses. i figured it was dry skin... i mean, i do wash my hands frequently. so, i itched it a bit, ignored it a bit, applied vitamin e oil. all in the hopes of revitalizing my dry skinned palm.

this morning, as i wake to bites everywhere, i notice the itchy spot on my palm is still there, red and angry. its not dry skin folks. its a mosquito bite.

now, what kind of mosquito is desperate enough to bite someone's palm??? and what kind of blood is worth poking through the super thick skin of a palm to drink???

the other bites ive managed to discover are on my neck, back, arms and one elbow. apparently i do a better job of covering my lower body than my upper body while sleeping. of course there is one in the middle of my back, just out of reach. summer just wouldn't be summer with out it.

* * *

7 8

previously:
weather or not - 2006-03-07
My Flight - 2006-03-02
poetree in motion - 2006-02-28
ultimate personality test - 2006-02-25
limerick e-trip - 2006-02-22


now / earlier

profile / email / notes

links / wish list

my artwork / my store

design / host