packed with action and adventure
2004-10-09 9:05 pm

It started with me waking, remembering in my dream I had been feeding the giant turtle in my yard. I don't remember what else was happening although its likely I was yelling expletives at my dad or my mom's ex-boyfriend... those are the other two activities I can often be found engaged in in my dreams.

Next LOM called about getting breakfast. She suggested Metropolis, Tremont 467, or China Pearl. Yeah, we went with China Pearl.

Dim Sum was outstanding! Its been months since I last enjoyed Dim Sum.

Next we walked to the waterfront, through Christopher Columbus Park which had recently had its Chris Columbus statue drenched in pink paint - clearly in protest to the genocide, disease, rape and massive theft he brought to the people of the americas.

We meandered through Fanueil Hall and next hit up DSW in Downtown Crossing for some much needed shoe shopping.

I've decided that it is NEVER worth it to buy cheap shoes. A month ago I bought these cute shoes at Target for $17. I've worn them twice and already spent $10 on bandaids and foot repair supplies. Thus, I have so far spent $27 for these shoes and if I choose to wear them several more times, I will likely spend another $40 on bandaids and foot repair supplies, bringing the grand total to $70+. Wouldn't it just be cheaper to spend $50 on a similar pair of shoes that don't do such damage to your feet? Yes, it would. And my feet would feel a lot better.

After DSW we walked Newbury and visited the Virgin for some cd browsing. LOM decided she could get what she wanted cheaper on iTunes.

We left the Virgin and parted at Mass Ave and Boylston, each headed to our respective homes.

At home I grabbed one of my books, deciding that my new rule would be that I can buy one new book for every three I read. This should help me read some of the books I've amased over the last 10 years, which should help me get rid of those I'm only keeping b/c I should read it before letting it go.

I read a couple chapters and settled in for a nice nap.

At 5pm LOM called, asking me to accompany her to the Augusten Boroughs reading at Brookline Booksmith.

LOM had read some of his stories to me when we lived together, but I hadn't really enjoyed some of them. Mostly I don't like stories about druggies or alcoholics (even recovering) b/c I already have first hand experience with the horrible junk that happens and merely find it aggravating to relive the utter stupidity with which their lives are based.

Anyway, I was pleasantly surprised to find Augusten to be a likable chap who really has overcome quite a few obstacles in his life. In fact, I'd say he and I have some things in common.

* * *

7 8

previously:
weather or not - 2006-03-07
My Flight - 2006-03-02
poetree in motion - 2006-02-28
ultimate personality test - 2006-02-25
limerick e-trip - 2006-02-22


now / earlier

profile / email / notes

links / wish list

my artwork / my store

design / host