under pressure
2004-07-07 8:21 am

believe it or not, i have learned an incredible amount just by slicing open my thumb. i think it might be healed already.

the first thing i did upon feeling the shooting pain in my thumb that indicated i had butchered it with a nice sharp broken piece of metal was sigh "shit" in a defeated tone.

next i briefly looked at it to assess the damage. seeing that it was an angled slice, yet deep enough that it didnt kill like a papercut, i grabbed a cotton ball and opted to apply pressure in the hopes of avoiding the throbbing pain i knew would come.

fortunately i had already dressed for the day, but that didnt stop me from wondering how exactly i could make it through life without my left thumb.

i continued to apply pressure, harder and harder until the pain of the pressure was greater than the pain of the cut. fortunately my next stop was the condo where i knew i could find neosporin and bandages.

at the condo, i dressed my wound appropriately and went about my afternoon. i redressed an hour or two later. and then redressed again a few more hours later. at bed time, i undressed the wound so it could have some fresh air.

when i woke this morning, to my surprise, the cut has nearly healed. its like the skin just repaired itself... its a bit wild. im convinced it was the pressure.

* * *

7 8

previously:
weather or not - 2006-03-07
My Flight - 2006-03-02
poetree in motion - 2006-02-28
ultimate personality test - 2006-02-25
limerick e-trip - 2006-02-22


now / earlier

profile / email / notes

links / wish list

my artwork / my store

design / host